Free Fiction: The Waiting Game

**Writing Prompt from Mama Kat’s Losin’ It: Write a blog post inspired by the word: ring**


She looked over the ring he placed in her hand—not on her hand.

“Is this a marriage proposition or a business proposition?”

He glared at her. “I should think you know me better than that. I love you, and I know somewhere in there, you love me too.”

The outer edges of her lips curled into the slightest hint of a smile. She did, he knew she did, even though she rarely said it. Truth be told, she wouldn’t have wanted him on one knee, sliding a strange ring on her finger, so as much hell as she gave him, he did it right by her.

She just wasn’t sure about it. She had to admit the past few months with him had been wonderful, but he’d also been a distraction, knocking her off her game at work. She was pretty sure that’s why she lost her show, though she couldn’t tell him that.

29-new-designer-collection-emerald-cut-emerald-diamond-three-stone-ring-genuine-affordable-designerShe looked at the ring, with its seemingly obnoxiously-sized emerald set between two baguette diamonds. It really was beautiful.

“I knew you wouldn’t want a diamond, so …” He trailed off and she tried to fill in the blank on her own. So you didn’t get one? So you found something more me? So you bucked tradition to make me happy? 

“It’s fine, it’s beautiful,” she said.

“Nothing is fine with you right now, you won’t even look at me.” She glanced up to look into his pleading eyes. She quickly broke eye contact because she couldn’t continue to look at him, not now that he looked like she’d just kicked his dog. “Are you going to answer me, or am I going to be one of those losers who has to return the ring? Please don’t make me do that walk of shame.”

Now he didn’t look like she’d kicked his dog, now he looked like she’d run the dog over and then backed up just to make sure he was good and dead before driving off.

“Can I have some time to think about it?”

“Take what you need, I can wait.” He awkwardly kissed her cheek and walked out of her apartment, leaving her standing there with the ring in her hand.


To be continued

One comment

Leave a Reply

