Book Review: Omega Rising

51oc0hqjcql-_sy346_Allow me to present you with this: the next book you need to pick up. If you like paranormal, shapeshifters, romance, horses, farms, bullheaded women, and magic, that is. Let’s be honest, who doesn’t?

I have had the pleasure of reading an early copy of Omega Rising from World Weaver Press (out June 7) and I just have to say … Yes. Yes. Yes. All the yes. Pre-order it now at World Weaver Press in digital or print. Or Amazon, if you prefer.

But, I shouldn’t be surprised. Anna Kyle also wrote one of my two favorite stories in the advance copy of Rough Edges I read recently, too. (You can pick that up from Pen and Kink Publishing next month. Pre-order it now. You can thank me later.)

Back to Omega Rising.

You can read the back cover copy at the bottom of this post. However, you want to know what it is about this book that made it for me? It wasn’t Cass and her headstrong nature or the blue skies and beautiful farm full of horses. Or hell, even the fact Cass was surrounded by the coolest shapeshifters ever. (Seriously, we’re talking wolves, bobcats, bears, and hell, even a hyena.)

Well, let me backtrack a bit, because the reason I love this book is because of the shapeshifters. One shapeshifter in particular.

Nathan.

RAWR.

Well, he’s a wolf, so maybe it’s more like, “AHROOOOOOO.”

He’s just delicious. There’s no other way to put it.

It’s a romance, so we all KNOW how it’s going to end. In fact, I was counting on it. I was flying through as fast as I could (which wasn’t very fast, because… reasons) because I wanted to see it  finally happen.

You know the it.

Shut up. Don’t judge me.

Okay, there were other reasons I wanted to get to the end. There is mystery, intrigue, and a helluva lot of magic that I wanted to see explained. (Oh, and there was a psychotic bitch I really wanted to see get hers.)

But moreover, I wanted more Nathan.

I might just read the thing again because I want more Nathan.

Do you hear me, Anna? MORE. NATHAN.

Oh, and donkeys with depressive disorder. They are fun, too. You have to read Rough Edges for that one, though.

Anna Kyle also has a novella, the first in the Wolf King series, Skye Falling, with World Weaver Press, if you’re interested. (It’s currently on sale too!) I haven’t read it yet, but I will. It’s firmly rooted in the to-be-read list.


About Omega Rising:

Cass Nolan has been forced to avoid the burn of human touch for her whole life, drawing comfort instead from her dreams of a silver wolf—her protector, her friend. When her stalking nightmares return, her imaginary dead sister’s ghost tells her to run, Cass knows she should listen, but the sinfully hot stranger she just hired to work on her ranch has her mind buzzing with possibilities. Not only does her skin accept Nathan’s touch, it demands it. Cass must make a decision—run again and hope she saves the people who have become her family, or stand and fight. Question is, will it be with Nathan or against him?

Nathan Rivers’ life is consumed by his quest to find the Omega wolf responsible for killing his brother, but when the trail leads him to Cass and her merry band of shapeshifters, his wolf wants only to claim her for himself. When evidence begins piling up that Cass is the Omega he’s been seeking, things become complicated—especially since someone else wants her dead. Saving her life might mean sacrificing his own, but it may be worth it to save the woman he can’t keep from reaching for.


About the Author:

Anna Kyle wrote her first story at age 12 on an old manual typewriter, and though the technology has changed, she hasn’t stopped since. She lives in the Midwest surrounded by family and friends and dogs and horses. They’ve forgiven her (mostly) when they appear in her stories. She reads everything she can get her hands on, but romances, especially paranormals, are her favorite. Vampires, humans, Fae, shapeshifters, or demons, it doesn’t matter—Anna’s heart goes pitter-pat for the Happily Ever After. Hot heroes + strong, funny heroines = awesome.

Leave a Reply

