Book Review: Beautiful Masterpiece

“I can’t even.”515ytmnl-ll

Yeah, it’s like that. (My white girl is showing.)

Full disclosure, the author of Beautiful Masterpiece warned me that I would need a light read for when I finished it. (So I’m now passing that bit of information along to you. You’re welcome.)

I have endured many things in my life, losing people unexpectedly to horrible reasons, almost dying myself, and I used to be a reporter. I’m rather thick-skinned and desensitized about these things. I kind of blew off the warning.

Not even two pages in and I knew she was right. I was totally going to need one. (Thank God—or is that Hook?—for my friend who provided one in perfect time.)

But man, psychological things get to me. I know we’re all messed up, some of us more than others, but the end of this one really got to me. I just… can’t even. (So much so, you’re not getting a plot summary out of this review, just the back cover copy.)

The good news here is this: I seriously thought the worst and predicted someone to have something to do with it who didn’t. *wipes brow* I’m so glad that prediction was wrong, because *that* might have wrecked me even more.

The bad news: Well, I can’t tell you for fear of giving it all away. But, MAN! Why Gen?

It’s really well-written. There are some fantastic turns of phrase in here that my writer self is just like, “man I’m jealous of that. Why didn’t I come up with that?” Furthermore, there’s no way I could write something so thoroughly gripping and psychological, so I bow down to Gen Ryan for this one.

This is another one that once I sat down to read it, I finished it in one day. Like hell was I going to bed and let my subconscious write even more of it than it tried to do already.

That’s the second Hot Tree Publishing book I’ve polished off in a day.

The sequel, Beautiful Sacrifice comes out on August 27, and you know I am SOOOOOOOOOO going to be there. A box of tissues at the ready.


About the book:

Madison Harper is no stranger to monsters.

After surviving an unimaginable childhood, she fights her past every day and dreams of working for the FBI to protect the innocent from monsters like her own father. Her plans are clear: finish her PhD, then join the next class of trainees.

Her father’s escape fast forwards her plans.

The two agents assigned to protect and instruct Madison offer her so much more than she ever expected. They teach her about love and pain, trust and loss. But not everyone can or should be saved.

 Will Madison avoid being her father’s last Beautiful Masterpiece?

**Book note. This book is dark. If you have issues with abuse, deep-seated psychological issues, steamy sex scenes and bad language please take that into consideration before reading. 18+ Enjoy!**

Pick up Beautiful Masterpiece

Amazon US  |  Amazon UK  |  Amazon CA  |  Amazon AU  |  iTunes  |  Nook  |  Kobo  |  ARe

Stalk the Author!

Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Website

2 comments

Leave a Reply

