Book Review: For the Love of Gracie

513okwzfbxlLet me start by saying this one gave me the most hellacious book hangover. I started it at nine Thursday night and went to bed an hour later, my Kindle still in my hand. “I’m just going to read until they hook up, and then I’m going to sleep.” Then *the thing* (edited to prevent spoilers) happened, and I was like, “No, can’t go to bed now.” The husband was definitely not happy to have the backlight from my Kindle keeping him up, but still I persisted.

At three a.m. I finally hit “The End” and could go to sleep.

Overall, it’s a cute new adult that tackles some adult situations.

Ashton is smooth, and definitely one that you want to take home to mom. Sometimes he seemed a little too good to be true, but, I guess that’s why it’s called fiction, right? And he is Prince Charming on a Harley—and we all know Prince Charming is too good to be true. Even still, I just wanted to eat him and his awesome gift-giving skills up. (Don’t even get me started on how much I adore the name Ashton.)

Just like Ashton may have been a bit too good to be true, best friend Cameron is a bit over-the-top and almost reads as a caricature. That said, Cameron is funny as hell and provides a lot of much-needed levity in a read that can be insanely heavy at times.

The early scenes with Gracie’s boyfriend Hudson managed to hit a little close to home for me, and I just wanted to throttle Gracie a few times (a lot of times, actually). But I’m not going to blame the author for my demons or, as such, for my hangups regarding said situation. (In fact, kudos for writing scenes that were realistic enough to do that.)

Don’t let my nit-picking at characters stop you from picking this one up though. It had several laugh-out-loud lines and a few more melt-in-a-puddle-and-never-recover moments as well.

The fact I read it in a single night, despite the late hour and my need to be at work by 7:30 the following morning, should tell you infinitely more than my whining does.

And I really, really want the heels with the cherry straps.


Always falling for the wrong guy, Gracie Walker hasn’t had much luck finding Prince Charming. She’s reached a point where it’s easier to forget about romance and focus on what’s important: college, clubbing, and her friends.

But the best-laid plans don’t always pan out as hoped.

Caught up in a web of relationships that threaten nothing but pain, Gracie has to decide who she can trust and who can help keep her safe.

What lengths will the man of her dreams go to… for the Love of Gracie?

Pick up a copy of For the Love of Gracie

Amazon US  |  Amazon UK  |  Amazon AU  |  Amazon CA  |  iTunes  |  Nook  |  ARe  |  Kobo

Stalk the author!

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog

One comment

Leave a Reply

