Best Books: 2016 Edition

I’ve not done as much reading this year as I would like, but sometimes time skitters off in the wind and I’m helpless to watch the days on the calendar inch ever closer to January 1.

However, there have been a handful of books that just… they were wow. If you haven’t read these, you should take a chance. These are listed in no particular order, and were definitely not the only good books I read this year. In fact, in all the books I read this year, there were only two that made me want to drown my Kindle in the bathtub.

Blackbird Summer by Em Shotwell

I make zero secret of my love for this book. I’m currently about ready to drive down to Louisiana to help Em finish the next one myself because I’m that anxious for it. This one sucked me in early and never let go—I do so love my stories mixed with a healthy dose of southern charm, romance, and paranormal activities.

Haven’s Flame by Marie Piper

I hate westerns. I kind of always have. (I blame Harlequin.) When Haven’s Flame was released I was a bit hesitant to pick it up, but once I finally did, I absolutely could not put it down. I was lost in the tiny town of Cricket Bend with Haven, trapped between obligation and desire. The sequel, Emma’s Blaze, was good, but Haven’s story is definitely my favorite. I’m looking forward to the third, and final, story about Callie coming in February.

Beautiful Masterpiece by Gen Ryan

I. Just. Can’t. Even.

This story absolutely wrecked me. I can’t even begin to describe how. It’s not your typical romance, and these are not your typical characters. Further, the book opens on a dark moment, which may be off-putting to some, but it sucked me in from the get-go and I refused to let the book go until I read the last word, even if I was cursing the author (I love you, Gen!) when I finished.

Bite Somebody by Sara Dobie Bauer

I adore this paranormal romance in so many ways. It’s quirky, irreverent, and full of so many eighties references I can’t help but squee like a schoolgirl. If you’re into the beach, the eighties, and vampires, this is the gem you’ve been looking for. Promise. Cross my undead heart.

Servants of Fate trilogy: Stealing Time, Taking Time, and Keeping Time by Wendy Sparrow

If you haven’t read something by Wendy Sparrow yet, you should. Seriously, she’s that awesome. This trilogy contains so much awesome, it’s appropriate they are Christmas-themed because they are a gift from Wendy to her readers. All three are good, but I have a special love in my heart for Tempus Halt. (Don’t worry, Wendy knows I play favorites.) If you haven’t picked these up, you really should. All three are available on Amazon. On Christmas Eve, they will all be available together as a box set.

 

There’s a lot more where the books mentioned above came from.

Hot Tree Publishing  |  World Weaver Press  |  Pen and Kink Publishing  |  City Owl Press

 

Leave a Reply

