Editor Interview: Covalent Bonds

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00001]It’s Valentine’s Day! My least favorite holiday of the year. (Don’t worry, it’s not a big secret to my husband.)

But today I’m going to celebrate (at least a little bit) because it’s the release of Covalent Bonds.   (Oh, and in case you weren’t aware, I had a book come out on February 4—Promises of Virtue, the second in the Earthbound Angels series. I totally forgot to post a blog about it.)

osmireqbo3s2c

Covalent Bonds is a collection of nine geeky romance stories. Well, some are your typical romances, some aren’t. Today I’m going to interview the editor, Trysh Thompson. Because… I can.

What made you want to do a geeky anthology?

I find intelligence sexy as hell. I always have. If you’ve got a sense of humor and can carry on an intelligent conversation with me, I will be smitten. Bonus points if you use correct grammar. So when the editors at World Weaver Press were looking over a list of potential anthology topics, geeks jumped out at me. That was my wheelhouse! I worked in software development for years, I married a total geek. Go with what you know, right?

What were you expecting versus what you got?

I didn’t know what to expect to be honest. I did fear getting a story about a circus geek—which is the guy who bites the heads off animals—but thankfully that didn’t happen. *whew* I left the term “geek” wide open for a reason. I wanted to see what I’d get, and I did get an array of geeks, so I made sure that came through in the table of contents. There are as many types of geekery as I could pull off. So the fact I’ve got hackers, comic book geeks, horror movie geeks, tabletop game geeks, online gaming geeks, grammar geeks… that was what I was going for. I accomplished what I wanted, which was to prove that geeks, no matter what they are into, are sexy.

What’s your favorite story in the collection?

Not going to answer that. I like them all, else they would have been declined. There is one that I read on my Kindle at my daughter’s soccer practice, and I immediately tweeted “!!!!” to the author when I finished.

And that was…

Not telling.

Come on. Just a hint.

Nope. She knows who she is.

AHA! A female author. *frantically scans the TOC*

Eight of the authors are female. Good luck narrowing it down.

What was the biggest fear you had pulling this collection together?

Not getting any stories. The last anthology I was supposed to edit, it turned out we had to cancel it, because we didn’t have enough stories to make an anthology. Thankfully, that didn’t happen here. I will admit that I had some stories that I rejected with second (third, fourth, and fifth) thoughts. They were incredibly well-written and fantastic. But, in the end, once the anthology took shape, they just didn’t fit in anymore. I certainly hope they found homes in other publications.

What’s the hardest part about doing an anthology?

I had no idea what I was doing going in. I’ve watched fellow editors go through the process, but I really had no idea just how gut-wrenching it was. It’s so much work, and let me tell you, anyone who edits an anthology is truly doing it for the love of it. It’s more than just fixing typos. In fact, my fellow editor, Rhonda, had a fantastic blog on the topic.

You’ve often referred to the roller coaster that was this project. Care to explain?

I’m just really happy it’s finally happened. It was almost two years in the making (as the submission period actually opened in March of 2015). But, like ketchup, good things come to those who wait.

So, what’s your favorite story?

Nice try. All of them. There was something special about all of them, otherwise I wouldn’t have chosen them.

Why should someone pick up this book?

I’m tired of geeks being portrayed as throw-away minor characters who are only there to serve comedic purpose. I wanted a chance for the geeks to be the star, to be loved.


Back Cover

Covalent bonds aren’t just about atoms sharing electron pairs anymore—it’s about the electricity that happens when you pair two geeks together. This anthology celebrates geeks of all kinds (enthusiasts, be it for comics, Dr. Who, movies, gaming, computers, or even grammar), and allows them to step out of their traditional supporting roles and into the shoes of the romantic lead. Forget the old stereotypes: geeks are sexy.

Featuring nine stories ranging from sweet to hot, by authors G.G. Andrew, Laura VanArendonk Baugh, Tellulah Darling, Mara Malins, Jeremiah Murphy, Marie Piper, Charlotte M. Ray, Wendy Sparrow, and Cori Vidae, Covalent Bonds is a chance for geeks get their noses out of the books, and instead to be the book.


Purchase Covalent Bonds

World Weaver Press | AmazonNook | iTunes

 

Leave a Reply

