The Struggle is Real

A week ago, I put the finishing touches on an MS that I’ve been messing around with since November. It was, in fact, my NaNoWriMo project.

It’s a special one, as it’s the third (and final) novel in the Earthbound Angels series. I struggled with this one significantly more than the first two. Don’t get me wrong, Virtue of Death and Promises of Virtue had their struggles while I was working on them, but the struggles on this one started long before I started writing.

Struggle number one: Who was I going to make it about? I think I changed the main character of the book three different times before I settled on it. It was the right choice. I know this now. I just wish it didn’t take me so long to land on it.

Struggle number two: Just how dark will it be? The answer—more than the previous two. One of the common complaints I’ve received about Virtue of Death is that it’s light and fluffy, for the most part. And it is. But it’s true to Sera’s character. Promises of Virtue takes it a step darker, and once again, the level of darkness is quite appropriate for Cheryl. With this one, I knew it was going to be a hell of a lot darker going in. Instead of matching the character with the level of darkness, I opted to take it a sharp opposite, insomuch that it’s a clear contradiction to the main character. Dichotomy is huge in my writing. Why else do you think I have a stereotypical blonde, perky female who does yoga who is an angel of death; or a goth best friend who performs miracles? It’s all done with purpose.

Struggle number three: Wrapping up the series. As I have long said this is the last novel in the series, I had to make sure it wrapped everything up with a divine little bow. It’s got heavy callbacks to the first book (and a few to the second). I think I did a pretty good job of wrapping it all up. Still waiting to hear from my publisher on how they feel about it.

source
It’s so hard… to say goodbye… to yesterday

Struggle number four: Saying goodbye to these characters. I adore writing these guys, Cheryl and Destin especially. As such, I had a hard time writing their final lines, knowing that these characters were done. Of course, if anyone knows me at all, Cheryl is very heavily based on me, so she’ll never be done, not really.

Stay tuned for more information regarding the fate of the third Earthbound Angels book.

 

Leave a Reply

