Hello Fresh Experiment: Chicken with Herbs de Provence and Farro

 

Let’s get this out of the way now, I did not want to cook dinner. I had a headache, I had a short story to put the finishing touches on, and a million other things I need to get read.

Alas, the chicken in the fridge wasn’t going to cook itself, no matter how long I stared at it and willed it so. (In fact, the longer I stared at it, the more likely it was a cat would eat it, and I’m not down with letting my cats eat raw chicken breasts off my countertop.)

The recipe was for chicken with herbs de Provence, farro, and tomatoes. Well, in my world we were going to skip the tomatoes because, well, I can bring myself to eat zucchini, I still can’t get down with whole tomatoes, and neither can the rest of my family. Really, the only sacrifice I felt I was making here was that my final plate wasn’t as pretty because it missed that pop of color. Eh. I’ll live.

The farro was supposed to have minced shallot. That was another proverbial middle finger I waved to this recipe. Nope. But I did grate part of the shallot into it. Baby steps.

giphy4While the farro was cooking, I had to butterfly some chicken breasts, which I did quite poorly. My cuts weren’t straight and the two halves were uneven in thickness (which defeats the entire purpose). Hell, there’s reason number two this week for Gordon Ramsay kicking me out of my own kitchen. I really am a donkey.

I did rather enjoy painting the jagged chicken butterflies with herbs de Provence which I’ve always wanted to buy but never did. Guess what, next time I’m at the store, that is going in my cart, I don’t care how much it is. The French—they know how to cook.

Pan seared the chicken, and then made up a quick balsamic vinaigrette with balsamic, honey, and olive oil that was really good. I questioned this, I’m not going to lie, but it was great. Especially after I poured it over the farro and mixed in chunks of fresh mozzarella. I questioned this too, actually, but that mozzarella with the vinaigrette was amazing.

IMAG1581
Okay, so it’s monochromatic because I left off the tomatoes and yes, it’s on a paper plate. Don’t judge me. It was pretty good (to me anyway).

I loved the whole dish. I would eat it again in a heartbeat, and I was so glad I actually cooked instead of begging hubs to order pizza. Let me tell you, that meal kicked the crap out of some pizza. At least to me. My family… let’s just say, they suck.

Hubs loved the chicken and the balsamic vinaigrette, but was not digging on the farro. He picked the mozzarella out of the farro and ate that. My daughter… nope, she was having none of it except the cheese. (To be fair, she’s never been a huge chicken fan, but I thought for sure that if spiced well she’d give it a go. Nope. She did at least try it, though, so I have to give her that much. But I still question her taste.)

If I did this one over rice, or couscous, or even a salad, the family said I could do it again. So, maybe one night I’ll go pick up the fixings and make it as a salad instead. So it wasn’t a complete loss. At least hubs and I can do it again with modifications.

Out of all the recipes this week, the clear winner was the pork and roasted potatoes. Some of next week’s recipes look really good, though I’m looking forward to some in a couple weeks. (Before you ask how long I’m going to keep this up… likely until I run out of referral credits. So hey… click the link down below and hook me up with another week at a discount!)


If you’re interested in experimenting with Hello Fresh, click here to get $40 off your first box. (So you can get six meals—three dinners, two servings of each—for $20. What have you got to lose?) 

One comment

Leave a Reply

