Review: Callie’s Embers (Fires of Cricket Bend, Book Three)

51txgj-naql**Disclaimer: I am the biggest slacker in the world. I read this book the week it came out, in FEBRUARY, and I’m just now getting around to reviewing it. Sigh.**

I got hooked on the Fires of Cricket Bend series by Marie Piper long ago when Haven’s Flame first came out. As a girl who doesn’t particularly care for westerns, I picked it up to be supportive and was pleasantly surprised by the content under that pretty cover. Especially Hank. Loved Hank.

When I finished the second book, Emma’s Blaze, I pinged Marie and was like, “The third book better be about Callie.” She confirmed that the third book would, indeed, be about Callie and I sat and I waited. And waited. And waited. Finally, on February 28, 2017 my waiting paid off and that bad boy was delivered to my Kindle in all its gorgeous glory.

In Callie’s Embers, Callie is dealing with quite a few forces, which almost break her. There’s Hank, who shows back up in town wanting to be a part of her life. There’s Jasper, the deputy who is trying to court her. There’s Nate, her toddler son. There’s the saloon which she now runs and is her “baby” behind Nate. And then there’s the fact she’s going to run for mayor of Cricket Bend.

It’s all a little much for one person to handle, especially when accusations fly, feelings get hurt, and the town burns. (Literally or figuratively? Or both? You’ll just have to read to find out.)

Predictable? Sure. But that’s also related to Callie’s character. A character as strong-willed as Callie is going to go through things with a take-no-prisoners approach and will not be deterred along her way. As someone who is like that myself, I can appreciate that about her.

It was a great way to wrap up the series. Happily ever afters all around!


Pick up Callie’s Embers

Amazon

Stalk the author

Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Website

Leave a Reply

