Guest Post: How Benedict Cumberbatch Became My Muse

Today is the release of Sara Dobie Bauer‘s newest masterpiece, Bite Somebody Else. To celebrate, I’m letting her take over my blog. Don’t forget to pick up a copy of her newest vampire romance. If you haven’t read the first one, Bite Somebody, you should do that too.


Once upon a time, one of my best girlfriends sat me down to have an intervention. She’d just watched this Oscar-nominated film called The Imitation Game, and she wanted me to know—in no uncertain terms—that there was nothing attractive about this Benedict Cumberbatch guy.

I allowed her to speak. I tasted blood, but that’s just because I was chewing on my own tongue out of respect for my beloved friend. My only argument: “Not even his mouth? How can you not think he has a sexy mouth?”

Nope. No dice. She wasn’t falling for it.

A couple weeks later, I got a text message from this dubious female friend which I won’t reproduce here due to its gratuitous nature, but the gist was: “God help me, Benedict Cumberbatch is so hot, I would climb him like a tree and lick his Adam’s apple.”

She had discovered BBC’s Sherlock.

Sherlock was how it started for me, too, what with his expensive suits, black hair, and vampire-like skin. (More on vampires later.) Oh, and the way he strutted around. And his voice. And his ass in tight trousers. So … anyway, Cumberbatch is a really great actor, okay?

And he is, in fact, a really great actor. He also seems like a very nice person, albeit a little geeky and rambling. Watching him do interviews is like watching a coked out person doing a Shakespearian monologue. I don’t think anyone talks as fast as Benedict Cumberbatch. He also has an extensive vocabulary, which I find HOT. (Like Irene Adler says, “Brainy is the new sexy.”)

The first time Mr. Cumberbatch actually became my muse was when I wrote a short story called “Don’t Ball the Boss” based on a picture of him and his Star Trek co-star Zachary Quinto. (Don’t even get me started about Benedict as Khan. Sploosh.)  I based the romantic interest in that short story on Benedict, and it was pretty much an obsessive whirlwind from there.

When I started developing Bite Somebody, I came across a picture of the British babe looking young and soft in a green hoodie. Surfer boy Ian was born. He was Benedict but with a tan, American twist—although just as adorable and sort of geeky.

Ian versus Nicholas
Inspiration for Ian (left) and Nicholas (right). Mmmmmm. I’ll take either one, thanks.

When it came time to pen Bite Somebody Else, my husband was the one who ultimately said, “Why don’t you just base a character on Cumberbatch?” I wanted to tell him, “Well, that’s what I always do.” Some iteration of him, at least. For the character of Nicholas, though, my husband’s idea worked brilliantly, and I created a suave, British vampire akin to Benedict on the red carpet. Any red carpet. The man is red carpet candy.

I’ve had previous muses (Colin Farrell and Ryan Reynolds were early faves), but Benedict has lasted the longest, and I’m not sure when he’ll be replaced. Does every writer need a muse? I’m not sure, but I think it helps—and it doesn’t have to be the same guy. I’m a crazy Cumberbitch; I know this. But even Randi bases her male leads on actual dudes. (She’s sent me numerous gifs to prove it, and I must say, she has fantastic taste in men.)

It’s a lot of fun to base male romantic leads on real people, even if it’s just in the way a character looks or the way he talks or the way he moves. I think it even helps fans connect. What fun to get a glimpse inside our favorite authors’ heads. We all cast the characters in our most adored books in our own imaginations, but ain’t it cool to see what the author intended? I think so.

In case you’re wondering about me, most of my male leads are Benedict Cumberbatch in some film role or photo shoot or random behind-the-scenes shot. The guy has captured my imagination … and a bit of my libido. I understand if you don’t get it, but I dare you to watch Sherlock and not find yourself momentarily fantasizing about those skintight Dolce & Gabbana shirts. Meow.


About Bite Somebody Else

BiteSomebodyElse_finalImogene helped her newbie vampire friend Celia hook up with an adorable human, but now Celia has dropped an atomic bomb of surprise: she has a possibly blood-sucking baby on the way. Imogene is not pleased, especially when a mysterious, ancient, and annoyingly gorgeous vampire historian shows up to monitor Celia’s unprecedented pregnancy.
 
Lord Nicholas Christopher Cuthbert III is everything Imogene hates: posh, mannerly, and totally uninterested in her. Plus, she thinks he’s hiding something. So what if he smells like a fresh garden and looks like a rich boarding school kid just begging to be debauched? Imogene has self-control. Or something.
 
As Celia’s pregnancy progresses at a freakishly fast pace, Imogene and Nicholas play an ever-escalating game of will they or won’t they, until his sexy maker shows up on Admiral Key, forcing Nicholas to reveal his true intentions toward Celia’s soon-to-arrive infant.


Author bio

Sara_Dobie_Bauer
Photo credit: Bill Thornhill

Sara Dobie Bauer is a writer, model, and mental health advocate with a creative writing degree from Ohio University. Her short story, “Don’t Ball the Boss,” was nominated for the Pushcart Prize, inspired by her shameless crush on Benedict Cumberbatch. She lives with her hottie husband and two precious pups in Northeast Ohio, although she’d really like to live in a Tim Burton film. She is a member of RWA and author of the paranormal rom-com Bite Somebody, among other ridiculously entertaining things.


Stalk the author!

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

Pick up a copy of Bite Somebody

World Weaver Press | Amazon | Nook | iTunes | Kobo

Pick up a copy of Bite Somebody Else

World Weaver Press | Amazon | Nook | iTunes | Kobo

Leave a Reply

